Top Buy
There are no matching posts to display...

Ajinkya Rahane to lead Mumbai in Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy | Cricket News – Times of India

October 18, 2021

MUMBAI: India’s Test vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane was on Monday asked to lead a 20-member strong Mumbai team for the league stage of the Syed Mushtaq T20 Trophy – which will kick off from November 4 – with Prithvi Shaw, who led the side to the Vijay Hazare Trophy last season, being his deputy.
Placed in Elite Group B which see them play Karnataka, Services, Bengal, Chhattisgarh and Baroda, Mumbai will play its league stage games in Guwahati from November 4.
Having scored just 109 runs in four Tests@15.57 in England, Rahane will look to find form in the tournament. In a significant development, Arman Jaffer, who wasn’t picked last season, has made a comeback into the side. “He performed well in the practice games and on the Oman tour. He looks to be in good touch,” Mumbai chief selector Salil Ankola told TOI. “The Oman tour served as an excellent exposure trip for the team. The boys look to be in prime shape fitness-wise,” he said.
The team will miss Rohit Sharma, Shreyas Iyer and Shardul Thakur, who’re all away on India duty.
The squad: Ajinkya Rahane (C), Prithvi Shaw, Aditya Tare, Shivam Dube, Tushar Deshpande, Sarfaraz Khan, Prashant Solanki, Shams Mulani, Atharva Ankolekar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Hardik Tamore, Mohit Awasthi, Siddhesh Lad, Sairaj Patil, Aman Khan, Arman Jaffer, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tanush Kotian, Deepak Shetty, Roystan Dias.

Source link

Article Categories:

Leave a Reply