Explaining how the update will impact the end-users, Google said that this “update will change the links used for some files.”
The company said, “The security update is being applied to some files in Google Drive to make sharing links more secure. The update will add a resource key to sharing links. Once the update has been applied to a file, users who haven’t viewed the file before will have to use a URL containing the resource key to gain access, and those who have viewed the file before or have direct access will not need the resource key to access the file.”
Google also said that it will start sending out emails starting July 26 to users with their impacted files. After this, users will have a deadline until September 14 to figure out how the update is applied to their files.
Personal Google account holders will have the option to remove the security update too, however, that “should only be considered for files that are posted publicly.”
For admins of Google Workspace accounts, Google will allow them to choose how this update is applied in their organisation till July 23.
“As an administrator, you need to decide how to apply the update to files in your organization. If you choose to apply the security update, impacted users get notified of any impacted items. You can change your selection after July 23, 2021. However, Drive won’t notify your users of your changes,” said Google.