As reported by WaBetaInfo, the feature is currently available for WhatsApp beta testers. It is rolling out for Android devices only. It has also shared screenshots to reveal how the feature works.
To send a photo/video in View Once mode, WhatsApp user needs to first select the media and tap on the clock-like icon. It will be available near the ‘Add a caption’ bar. WhatsApp will notify the sender when the recipient opens the media.
Once the media is opened, WhatsApp will display the following message to the recipient: “This Photo is set to view once. For more privacy, this photo will disappear after you close it”.
Things to know before sharing a photo or video using view once
In its report, WaBetaInfo says that if a user disables read receipts for such messages, the recipient will still see if you have opened the photo or video set to view once. However, the sender cannot see when the recipient opens the message.
For group chats, WhatsApp users can still see when other participants open expiring photos even if they have disabled read receipts.
In case the recipient saves the photo/video or takes screenshots/video captures, WhatsApp will not notify the sender because there isn’t a screenshot detection.
Blocked contacts in common groups can still open photos and videos sent with the view once feature. In case a user sends a photo using view once to people that haven’t this feature enabled, the view once feature will still work and they can only view it once.
As mentioned above, the feature is available for Android users with WhatsApp version 126.96.36.199.